header

The crisis in financial administration is the crisis of social justice
Charter for the financial administration authorities in Europe

Table of Contents

  1. Preamble
  2. Analysis of present situation
    1. Complicated tax laws
    2. "Tax dumping"
    3. The "country of destination" principle leaves the door
      wide open for economicand tax crime
    4. Tax and customs administration - a blunt sword
      for combating economic and tax crime
    5. The boom in economic and tax crime
  3. Seven-point plan for strengthening
    financial administration in Europe
  4. Appeal

1. Preamble

"In awareness of the historic importance of the need to overcome the division of the European continent and the necessity to create a firm basis for the structure of the Europe of the future" are the fine words of the Maastricht Treaty that show the way forward to the "European Union" with equal living conditions and opportunities for all the citizens of Europe. This way forward spans economic and monetary union, which should be in place on 1 January 1999 with the introduction of the common European currency, the "Euro".

1. Economic and monetary union, as the material foundation for the Europe of the future, will only give rise to hope and future prospects if the free trade of goods, services, and capital proceeds on the basis of social justice.

Two prerequisites need to be fulfilled here: A uniform framework needs to be created for the structure of a taxation system in which everybody is called upon to contribute uniformly to the tax burden in proportion to their economic ability. This would be a major step along the road to a fairer taxation system, and thus to social justice. (cf. page 5 of this Charter.) A fully functional and efficient financial administration authority must create the foundations for its implementation in taxation practice.

2. The free market economy is likewise not a ruthless market economy, or one of "Manchester capitalism". Without the term "social" it has no roots in a social state based on the rule of Law. It can only flourish if the free forces of the market operate on the bedrock of social justice.

3. European societies are still far from this goal, and further away in some countries than in others. In many countries, the gap between rich and poor is growing; while there are nearly 20 million unemployed in the EU, there are top-level earners in many branches of the private sector.

The link that joins the two poles - an economically efficient body of small and medium-sized enterprises, to which public service also belongs - is growing steadily weaker. This is putting pressure on social peace. Demonstrations in many European capitals, and particularly the march by the European trade unions against unemployment, have provided particularly impressive proof of this fact.

When the shares of companies that cut down on jobs most drastically and demolish their employees' working conditions shoot up, this cynical mechanism of the stock exchanges (so-called shareholder value) will endanger social peace to a particularly threatening extent.

If tax revenues continue to fall because more and more profits are being exported to low-taxation regions all over the world, if taxpayers with plenty of financial room to manoeuvre can exploit perfectly legal tax loop-holes and reduce their tax liability to zero, if the profiteers from economic and tax crime can make a lucrative income, these all represent alarming challenges for the social state based on the rule of Law.

4. It is with growing unease, indeed alarm, that the UFE observes how the structural crisis in European financial administration (tax and customs administration) has also led to a crisis of social justice. Because: social justice can only develop if a kernel of social justice is guaranteed, meaning uniform taxation not only in the form of tax and customs laws but also in the enforcement of the law.

A just taxation system in this sense calls on everybody to pay taxes uniformly, in accordance with their individual economic performance, creates the conditions for effectively combating tax and economic crime, enabling a lower general level of taxation. Social justice and tax justice belong together. They are the foundation stones of a stable system of financial law based on clear principles.

5. The financial administration authorities are therefore the pivotal point in the European integration process. The personnel who work in them all over Europe are aware of their role and function in creating, within a social state based on the rule of Law, a fairer society through fair taxation.

The employees in financial administration in Europe are resolved to contribute towards fairer taxation in the fight against economic and tax crime. They stand side-by-side with honest and punctual taxpayers, and are "in the same boat" with them, because honest taxpayers have to pick up the bill, in the form of a heavy, indeed a confiscatory, tax burden, for tax and economic crime.

The representatives of European financial personnel assembled in Bonn, organised in solidarity in the Union of the Finance Personnel in Europe (UFE), are expecting effective support from the politicians responsible for financial administration at the national and European level on the two following bases:

an honest and truthful analysis of the state of European financial administration authorities and, based on this

a complete and plausible plan of action for dealing with the recognised shortcomings, strengthening the efficiency of the financial administration authorities, and enabling the employees to fulfil their important tasks. In awareness of the foregoing, the Committee adopts the "Charter for the financial administration authorities in Europe" in Bonn on 9 September 1997.

2. Analysis of present situation

1. Complicated tax laws

Tax laws, including customs laws, are increasingly complicated because every conceivable aim a state may set itself is meant to be achievable through tax law. The flood of rules and regulations with which European tax administration authorities are being swamped is growing larger and larger, not only because of tax laws as such but also because of a whole sub-culture of ordinances, guidelines, decrees, and adjudication.

In addition, the influence of Community law on top of national tax law is growing ever greater, and this is making national tax laws even more complicated. The Single European Market and Economic and Monetary Union will further intensify this trend.

2. "Tax dumping"

"Tax dumping" is taking on ever greater dimensions. Transferring profits to low-taxation regions is resulting in a major loss of tax revenue in those countries in which the economic activity actually takes place, and this is distorting competition.

Even more importantly, "tax dumping" is acting as a brake that prevents greater social justice.

This is because, as a consequence, more of the tax burden is falling on the less mobile part of the tax base, namely labour, and this in turn means ever heavier taxation for those employed.

3. The "country of destination" principle leaves the door

wide open for economic and tax crime

The internal European market, which came into effect on 1 January 1993, has led to a worrying increase in tax crime, particularly the VAT tax rule known as the "country of destination" principle (under which VAT is levied from the member state on whose territory the goods or services being sold are finally "consumed").

The work that has been done smoothly at borders by customs offices has now been transferred to the local tax authorities within each country, which requires time and effort in obtaining information and exercising control for which the tax authorities are simply not equipped.

Complicated rules have had to be introduced for determining the place in which taxable turnover arises. There are currently at least 25 different rules on determining the place in which turnover is taxable, which means an enormous administrative cost both for companies and for financial administration authorities.

All in all, the "country of destination principle" leaves the door wide open for tax and economic crime, including its worst form, "riding-the-roundabout" fraud.

By splitting up the economic activity between a number of member states, none of them is in the end able to exercise total control over the business activities of any one company or to make sure that the taxes and charges it is levying are right and lawful. The "roundabout" alone is causing losses in tax revenues running into tens of billions.

4. Tax and customs administration - a blunt sword

for combating economic and tax crime

The alarming fact is:

European tax administration authorities are no longer able to exercise their financial-control function. They are unable to draw on the existing sources of taxation. Everywhere - and the situation is worse in some places than others - enormous gaps in personnel cover are emerging. As a general rule, staff numbers are being reduced even though the volume of work is growing steadily.

The inadequate level of staff in customs administration authorities is resulting in substantial difficulties in combating economic crime, and even making it impossible in some cases. For instance, because of lack of personnel it is not possible to maintain the inspection quotas prescribed for the EU market organisation, and national export regulations are being violated by internal transport movements which customs administration authorities are unable to check.

Cigarette smuggling alone, for instance, according to an estimate by the European Court of Auditors, is causing Germany tax revenue losses every year of almost DM 3 billion.

As another important point, shortages of every kind in customs administration are causing security short-comings in the EU member states.

5. The boom in economic and tax crime

This all represents an excellent breeding-ground for the boom in economic and tax crime, which is coming ever closer to organised crime, and which the European financial administration authorities can do nothing to oppose.

The share of European national economies accounted for by this parallel economy, according to the Institute of Higher Studies in Vienna, is between 10 and 20 percent of GDP. The proportion has doubled since 1970 in EU countries, at the same time as many EU member states have been grappling with gigantic budget deficits. It is estimated that, within the EU, tax revenues are being foregone totalling at least 300 billion ECU.

Social solidarity will collapse if some people escape their tax obligations and others are burdened with taxes far beyond their economic capacity to pay. Thus honest taxpayers are picking up the bill for tax crime and the parallel economy.

It is infuriating, in social policy terms, to see on the one hand conditions of employment in public service being demolished and, on the other hand, tax and economic criminality of enormous proportions being actively promoted and the existing sources of taxation being left untouched.

3. Seven-point plan for strengthening
financial administration in Europe

the UFE calls on responsible politicians in Europe to ensure that the European financial administration authorities are able to fulfil their important tasks in the European internal market and in economic and monetary union.

1. The structure of tax laws should be harmonised and the opportunity utilised at the same time of considerably simplifying tax law. Also, and in particular, taxes on income from capital assets should be harmonised in order to reduce the tax concessions on cross-border savings and to guarantee freedom of movement in a unified capital market. "Tax dumping", which distorts competition and limits the free movement of goods, services, and capital, needs to be countered.

2. Personnel planning should be based on the increase in the work needing to be done, and first of all on a work analysis. The main criteria should not be "spreading shortages evenly" but on the personnel requirement as the guiding principle for the approval of additional staff given by budgetary legislation.

3. Financial administration authorities need to be able to compete for personnel in the community against the private sector and the tax-consultancy professions, and this should be brought about through:

4. There should be more exchange of personnel between EU member states. Effective co-operation can only be achieved and encouraged if the employees in tax and customs administration acquire not only the necessary knowledge of Community law but also of the tax and customs law in other EU member states, and can explain the administrative organisation to others. This should apply not only in theory but also in practice, by giving employees the opportunity to undertake a tour of duty in other EU member states.

The main priority here should be the "Matthäus Tax Programme", as is already being practised in the field of indirect taxation and could be extended to cover direct taxation as well.

5. The FISCALIS programme of the EU Commission is a step in the right direction towards combating abuse in the field of Value Added Tax. It should include not only the exchange of VAT information already provided for but also seminars and multilateral monitoring exercises, a training programme for introducing the FISCALIS programme, and the necessary translation service.

The programme should be finalised as soon as possible, and the UFE should be involved in all phases of its creation and further development.

6. A European Customs Investigation Office should be set up to co-ordinate the work of the various European customs administration authorities in order to fight tax evasion and organised crime. It should ensure a uniform approach to combating customs crime and optimise the efforts of the individual customs administration authorities.

In addition to this, co-operation is required in general customs work through a separate EUROCUSTOMS European administrative authority.

7. The necessary consequences should be drawn from the EU's "Customs 2000" programme of action. The European aim, which has also been defined by the European Parliament’s Committee of Inquiry in light of irregularities in despatch procedure, has to be uniform customs administration all over Europe.

To this end, the customs administration authorities in Europe must "develop towards" one another. This applies particularly to information technology and the standard for administrative action.

This endows basic and advanced training with crucial significance. For this reason, the employees in customs administration raise the demand, in order to guarantee uniformity in administrative action, for the creation of a European Customs Academy with full responsibility for basic and advanced training. This Academy should be set up in an EU country which already has a high standard of basic training and also has teaching staff available for all areas of activity and career paths within EU customs administration, and should for example also have its own university-level teaching institution.

The UFE, as the representative organisation for employees in European customs and tax administration, should be involved immediately and to the appropriate extent in the implementation of the "Customs 2000" programme of action and its finalisation and further development, which the UFE considers to be urgently necessary.

4. Appeal

The UFE appeals to the competent politicians in Europe:

NEWS

header

Krise der Finanzverwaltungen = Krise der sozialen Gerechtigkeit
Charta der Finanzverwaltungen in Europa

Inhaltsverzeichnis

  1. Präambel
  2. Lageanalyse
    1. Komplizierte Steuergesetze
    2. "Steuerdumping"
    3. Bestimmungslandprinzip = Einfallstor
      für Wirtschafts- und Steuerkriminalität
    4. Steuer- und Zollverwaltung - ein stumpfes Schwert
      gegen Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität
    5. Steuerkriminalität und Wirtschaftskriminalität boomen
  3. Sieben Schwerpunktforderungen
    zur Stärkung der Finanzverwaltungen in Europa
  4. Appell

1. Präambel

"Eingedenk der historischen Bedeutung der Überwindung der Teilung des europäischen Kontinents und der Notwendigkeit, feste Grundlagen für die Gestalt des zukünftigen Europas zu schaffen", weisen die Verträge von Maastricht den Weg zur "Europäischen Union" mit gleichen Lebensbedingungen und Chancen für die Bürger in Europa. Dieser Weg führt über die Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion, die ab dem 1. Januar 1999 mit der gemeinschaftlichen Währung "Euro" vollendet sein soll.

1. Die Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion als die materielle Grundlage für das zukünftige Europa wird nur dann zu einer Hoffnung und Perspektive, wenn die Freiheit des Handels von Waren, Dienstleistungen und Kapital sich vollzieht auf dem Fundament der sozialen Gerechtigkeit.

Hierzu müssen zwei Prämissen erfüllt sein: Geschaffen werden muss ein einheitlicher Rahmen für die Struktur eines Abgabensystems, über das alle gleichmäßig nach ihrer wirtschaftlichen individuellen Leistungsfähigkeit zu den steuerlichen Lasten herangezogen werden als ein effektiver Schritt hin zu mehr Steuergerechtigkeit und damit auch zur sozialen Gerechtigkeit 1). Funktionstüchtige und leistungsstarke Finanzverwaltungen müssen für seine Umsetzung in die Besteuerungspraxis die Grundlagen schaffen.

2. Auch die freie Marktwirtschaft ist keine Marktwirtschaft des Ellenbogens und des Manchesterkapitalismus; sie ist ohne das Attribut "sozial" ohne Wurzel in einem sozialen Rechtsstaat. Sie kann nur dann gedeihen, wenn die freien Kräfte des Marktes operieren auf dem Boden der sozialen Gerechtigkeit.

3. Wenn auch in unterschiedlichem Ausmaß sind die Gesellschaften in Europa von diesen Zielen noch weit entfernt. In vielen Ländern wird die Kluft zwischen arm und reich immer tiefer: auf der einen Seite fast 20 Millionen Arbeitslose allein in der EU, auf der anderen Seite Spitzenverdiener in vielen Bereichen der privaten Wirtschaft.

Das Bindeglied zwischen beiden Polen - ein wirtschaftlich leistungsfähiger Mittelstand, zu dem auch der öffentliche Dienst gehört - wird immer schwächer. So gerät der soziale Frieden unter Druck. Die Demonstrationen in vielen Hauptstädten Europas, insbesondere aber auch der Marsch der europäischen Gewerkschaften gegen die Arbeitslosigkeit, beweisen dies in besonders eindrücklicher Weise.

Wenn die Aktien der Unternehmen in die Höhe schnellen, die die meisten Arbeitsplätze abbauen und die Arbeitsbedingungen demontieren, gefährdet dieser zynische Mechanismus der Börsen - shareholders value - in einem bedrohlichen Ausmaß den sozialen Frieden.

Wenn immer weniger Steuern eingenommen werden, weil immer mehr Gewinne in Niedrigsteuergebiete in aller Welt verlagert werden, wenn Steuerzahler mit komfortablen finanziellen Spielräumen legale Steuerschlupflöcher ausnutzen und ihre Steuerschuld so bis auf Null zurückführen können, wenn die Gewinnler aus Wirtschafts- und Steuerkriminalität reiche Erträge einfahren, sind dies alarmierende Herausforderungen für den sozialen Rechtsstaat.

4. Mit wachsender, ja beklemmender Besorgnis beobachtet die UFE, dass die Strukturkrisen der europäischen Finanzverwaltungen (Steuer- und Zollverwaltungen) auch zu einer Krise der sozialen Gerechtigkeit geführt hat. Denn: soziale Gerechtigkeit kann sich nur dann entfalten, wenn ein Kernstück der sozialen Gerechtigkeit gewährleistet ist - die gleichmäßige Besteuerung nicht nur über die Steuer- und Zollgesetze, sondern auch über den Gesetzesvollzug.

Ein in dieser Weise gerechtes Steuersystem zieht alle gleichmäßig nach ihrer individuellen wirtschaftlichen Leistungsfähigkeit zu den Steuern heran, schafft die Grundlage für die wirksame Bekämpfung der Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität und ermöglicht so, die Steuerbelastung zu senken. Soziale Gerechtigkeit und Steuergerechtigkeit gehören zusammen. Sie sind Bausteine einer auf klaren Prinzipien aufgebauten stabilen Finanzrechtsordnung.

5. Die Finanzverwaltungen sind daher ein bedeutsamer Dreh- und Angelpunkt im europäischen Integrationsprozess. Das Personal der Finanzverwaltungen in Europa ist sich seiner Rolle und Funktion in einem sozialen Rechtsstaat bewusst, über die Steuergerechtigkeit auch mehr soziale Gerechtigkeit zu schaffen.

Die Beschäftigten der Finanzverwaltungen in Europa sind entschlossen, ihren Beitrag für mehr Steuergerechtigkeit zu leisten im Kampf gegen die Wirtschafts- und Steuerkriminalität. Sie stehen an der Seite der ehrlichen und pünktlichen Steuerzahler. Mit ihnen "sitzen sie in einem Boot". Denn die ehrlichen Steuerzahler zahlen über eine hohe, ja konfiskatorische Steuerbelastung die Zeche für die Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität.

Die Vertreter des europäischen Finanzpersonals - solidarisch in der Union des Finanzpersonals in Europa (UFE) - erwarten von den für die Finanzverwaltungen verantwortlichen Politiker auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene tatkräftige Unterstützung - auf zwei Grundlagen:

auf einer ungeschminkten Analyse der Lage der europäischen Finanzverwaltungen und - darauf aufbauend -

auf einem schlüssigen plausiblen Handlungskonzept, wie erkannte Defizite überwunden, die Leistungsfähigkeit der Finanzverwaltungen gestärkt und die Beschäftigten ihren bedeutsamen Auftrag erfüllen können. In diesem Bewusstsein verabschiedet das Komitee am 9. September 1997 in Bonn die "Charta der Finanzverwaltungen in Europa".

2. Lageanalyse

1. Komplizierte Steuergesetze

Die Steuergesetze (Steuer- und Zollgesetze) werden immer komplizierter, weil alle nur denkbaren Staatsziele über das Steuerrecht erreicht werden sollen. Die Normenflut, mit der die Finanzverwaltungen in Europa überschwemmt werden, wird immer gewaltiger - nicht nur durch die Steuergesetze, sondern auch durch eine Subkultur von Verordnungen, Richtlinien, Erlassen, Rechtsprechung usw.

Hinzu kommt: der Einfluss des Gemeinschaftsrechts auf das nationale Steuerrecht wird immer stärker, die nationalen Steuerrechte dadurch immer komplizierter. Der europäische Binnenmarkt und die Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion werden diese Tendenz noch weiter verschärfen.

2. "Steuerdumping"

Das "Steuerdumping" nimmt immer größere Dimensionen an. Gewinnverlagerungen in Niedrigsteuergebiete bewirken gewaltige Steuerausfälle in den Ländern, in denen die wirtschaftliche Tätigkeit tatsächlich entfaltet wird. Sie verzerren den Wettbewerb.

"Steuerdumping" ist nicht zuletzt ein Bremsklotz für mehr soziale Gerechtigkeit.

Denn: als Folge wird die Steuerlast auf die weniger mobile Besteuerungsgrundlage - die Arbeit - verlagert. Dies führt zu einer immer höheren Besteuerung der Arbeitnehmer.

3. Bestimmungslandprinzip = Einfallstor für
Wirtschafts- und Steuerkriminalität

Der europäische Binnenmarkt zum 1. Januar 1993 hat zu einem besorgniserregenden Anstieg der Steuerkriminalität geführt, insbesondere durch die Umsatzsteuerübergangsregelung, das sog. "Bestimmungslandprinzip" 2).

Die Arbeit, die bisher von den Zollverwaltungen reibungslos geleistet worden ist, wird auf die örtlichen Finanzbehörden in das Binnenland verlagert mit einem Informations- und Kontrollaufwand, für den die Steuerverwaltungen nicht gerüstet sind.

Eingeführt werden mussten komplizierte Regelungen zur Bestimmung des Orts der steuerbaren Umsätze. Zur Zeit bestehen mindestens 25 unterschiedliche Regelungen zur Ermittlung des Ortes, an dem ein Umsatz zu besteuern ist - ein gewaltiger Verwaltungsaufwand sowohl bei den Unternehmen als auch bei den Finanzverwaltungen.

Insgesamt ist das "Bestimmungslandprinzip" ein Einfallstor für Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität - auch in ihrer schwersten Erscheinungsform, den "Karussellbetrügereien".

Durch die Aufspaltung der Wirtschaftstätigkeit auf die verschiedenen Mitgliedstaaten ist keiner von diesen mehr in der Lage, die Gesamtkontrolle über die Geschäftstätigkeit eines Unternehmens auszuüben und sich von der Rechtmäßigkeit der Abzüge zu überzeugen. Allein die "Karussellbetrügereien" bewirken Steuerausfälle in zweistelliger Milliardenhöhe.

4. Steuer- und Zollverwaltung - ein stumpfes Schwert
gegen Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität

Alarmierend ist der Befund:

Die europäischen Steuerverwaltungen können ihre Kontrollfunktionen nicht wahrnehmen. Sie sind außerstande, die vorhandenen Steuerquellen zu erschließen. Überall - wenn auch in unterschiedlichem Ausmaß - klaffen gewaltige Personallücken. In der Regel wird Personal abgebaut, obwohl die Aufgaben dynamisch wachsen.

Die unzureichende Personalausstattung der Zollverwaltung bewirkt, dass eine wirksame Bekämpfung der Wirtschaftskriminalität erheblich erschwert, wenn nicht gar unmöglich gemacht wird. So können die Beschauquoten für Waren, die der gemeinsamen Marktorganisation der EU unterliegen, aufgrund der Personallücken nicht eingehalten werden, wird gegen nationale Außenwirtschaftsvorschriften verstoßen durch Binnentransporte, die von den Zollverwaltungen nicht nachvollzogen werden können.

Allein durch den Zigarettenschmuggel entstehen zum Beispiel in Deutschland nach Schätzung des Europäischen Rechnungshofs alljährlich Steuerausfälle in Höhe von fast drei Milliarden DM.

Nicht zuletzt bewirken die Vollzugsdefizite der Zollverwaltungen besorgniserregende Sicherheitsdefizite in den EU-Mitgliedsländern.

5. Steuerkriminalität und Wirtschaftskriminalität boomen

Dies alles ist der Nährboden für die boomende Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität, die sich immer mehr an die organisierte Kriminalität anlehnt, der die europäischen Finanzverwaltungen nicht entgegenzusetzen haben.

Der Anteil dieser Schattenwirtschaft in den europäischen Volkswirtschaften beträgt nach Schätzungen des Instituts für höhere Studien in Wien zwischen 10 % und 20 % des Bruttoinlandsprodukts. Der Anteil hat sich in den EU-Ländern seit 1970 verdoppelt, und dies in einer Zeit, in der viele EU-Mitgliedsländer gigantische Haushaltsdefizite zu verkraften haben. Geschätzt wird, dass innerhalb der EU Steuerausfälle in Höhe von mindestens 300 Milliarden ECU entstehen.

Die gesellschaftliche Solidarität wird gesprengt, wenn die einen sich ihren steuerlichen Pflichten entziehen und die anderen - über die Grenze ihrer wirtschaftlichen Leistungsfähigkeit hinaus - mit Steuern belastet werden. So zahlen die ehrlichen Steuerzahler die Zeche für Steuerkriminalität und Schattenwirtschaft.

Ein sozialpolitisches Ärgernis ist es, wenn auf der einen Seite die Arbeitsbedingungen im öffentlichen Dienst demontiert werden, während auf der anderen Seite die Steuer- und Wirtschaftskriminalität großen Stils gefördert wird und die vorhandenen Steuerquellen nicht erschlossen werden.

3. Sieben Schwerpunktforderungen zur Stärkung der Finanzverwaltungen in Europa

fordert die UFE die verantwortlichen Politiker in Europa auf, dafür Sorge zu tragen, dass die europäischen Finanzverwaltungen ihre bedeutsamen Aufgaben in einem europäischen Binnenmarkt und in der Wirtschafts- und Währungsunion erfüllen können.

1. Die Struktur der Abgabengesetze ist zu harmonisieren; dabei ist gleichzeitig die Chance einer spürbaren Gesetzesvereinfachung zu nutzen. Auch und insbesondere ist die Besteuerung der Einkünfte aus Kapitalvermögen zu harmonisieren, um die Nichtbesteuerung des grenzüberschreitenden Sparens einzudämmen und die Freiheit des Kapitalverkehrs in einem einheitlichen Kapitalmarkt zu gewährleisten. Dem "Steuerdumping", das den Wettbewerb verzerrt und die Freiheit des Handels von Waren, Dienstleistungen und Kapital behindert, ist entgegenzuwirken.

2. Die Personalplanung ist an den Aufgabenzuwächsen zu orientieren auf der Grundlage einer Aufgabenanalyse. Maßstab darf nicht die "Verteilung des Mangels sein", sondern der an den Aufgabenzuwächsen ausgerichtete Personalbedarf als Richtschnur für Stellenbewilligungen durch den Haushaltsgesetzgeber.

3. Insgesamt ist die personelle Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Finanzverwaltungen in der Gemeinschaft mit der privaten Wirtschaft und den steuerberatenden Berufen herzustellen

4. Der Personalaustausch zwischen den EU-Mitgliedsländern ist zu verstärken. Eine wirksame Zusammenarbeit kann nur dann entstehen und gedeihen, wenn den Beschäftigten der Steuer- und Zollverwaltungen neben Kenntnissen des Gemeinschaftsrechts auch die Systeme des Steuer- und Zollrechts in den anderen EU-Mitgliedsländern und die Verwaltungsorganisation vermittelt werden. Dies nicht nur in der Theorie, sondern auch in der Praxis, indem den Beschäftigten die Gelegenheit geboten wird, in den anderen EU-Mitgliedsländern zu hospitieren.

Vorrangig ist daher, dass das "Matthäus-Tax-Programm", das im Bereich der indirekten Steuern bereits praktiziert wird, auch auf den Bereich der direkten Steuern ausgedehnt wird.

5. Bei der Missbrauchsbekämpfung auf dem Gebiet der Mehrwertsteuer und der Verbrauchsteuern ist das Programm "FISCALIS" der EU-Kommission ein Schritt in die richtige Richtung. Hierzu gehören insbesondere der vorgesehene Informationsaustausch über ein Mehrwertsteuerinformationssystem, die Seminare und multilateralen Überwachungsübungen, die Ausbildungsinitiative zur Einführung in das Programm "FISCALIS" sowie der Sprachendienst.

Das Projekt ist alsbald zu konkretisieren und die UFE in allen Phasen seiner Entstehung und Fortentwicklung zu beteiligen.

6. Zur Koordinierung der Arbeit der europäischen Zollverwaltungen zur Bekämpfung von Steuerhinterziehung und organisierter Kriminalität ist ein Europäisches Zollfahndungsamt zu schaffen. Es soll die Einheitlichkeit der Bekämpfung der Zollkriminalität gewährleisten und die Einzelmaßnahmen der Zollverwaltungen optimieren.

Darüber hinaus bedarf es einer Kooperation der allgemeinen Zolltätigkeiten durch eine separate administrative europäische Behörde "EUROZOLL".

7. Aus dem Aktionsprogramm "Zoll 2000" der EU sind die erforderlichen Konsequenzen zu ziehen. Das europäische Ziel, das auch vom Untersuchungsausschuss des Europäischen Parlaments im Blick auf Unregelmäßigkeiten im Versandverfahren definiert worden ist, muss eine einheitliche Europäische Zollverwaltung sein.

Dazu müssen sich die Zollverwaltungen innerhalb der EU aufeinanderzuentwickeln. Dies gilt insbesondere für die Informationstechnik und den Standard des Verwaltungshandelns.

Maßgebliche Bedeutung kommt dabei der Aus- und Fortbildung zu. Deshalb erheben die Beschäftigten der Zollverwaltung zur Gewährleistung der Einheitlichkeit des Verwaltungshandelns die Forderung nach Einrichtung einer Europäischen Zollakademie mit Zuständigkeiten für Aus- und Fortbildung. Die Zollakademie soll in einem EU-Land angesiedelt werden, das bereits heute einen hohen Ausbildungsstandard und auch Lehrpersonal für alle Tätigkeitsfelder und Laufbahnen der EU-Zollverwaltungen hat, zum Beispiel auch bereits eine eigene akademische Ausbildungsstätte.

Die UFE als repräsentative Vertretung der europäischen Zoll- und Steuerbeschäftigten ist an der Umsetzung des Aktionsprogramms "Zoll 2000" und seiner nach Auffassung der UFE dringend gebotenen Konkretisierung und Weiterentwicklung unverzüglich angemessen zu beteiligen.

4. Appell

Die UFE appelliert an die verantwortlichen Politiker in Europa:

NEWS